Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

The author claims that it is impossible for anyone to be regarded as hero due to the nowadays media scrutiny would diminish people's reputation. While full aspect exposure of the people by media usually makes people know the dark sides of people, the more information about people the public gain from the media enable them to fully evaluate the person who has heroic characteristic. therefore, I am partially agree with the author's claim and reason.

The author's claim that current society would not treat the living person as media provides closer scrutiny than ever before. Indeed, nowadays media can quickly response to the event. And people can easily be scrutinzed. Since nobody is perfect, the drawbacks of people can easily be augemented by meida which leads public to believe that the person has something unacceptable rather than evaluating the people comprehensively. However, for the person who has passed away, media may not be interested in their scandals to grab eyeball and scholars may sometimes to provide reasonably assessment of the person. therefore, it is muck more likely for public to accept the person who is not living as hero.

Besides, the media usually sentimentionlise the scandals to gain public attention or to serve their own purpose. For example, as the trade war between China and United States, Chinese media usually promugate president trump as a selffish , discredit person who ignores the common interest of both country people and insistently implement his "America first" policy to achieve his own goal. Whether president trump's policy is a self-serving plan, the unfriendly media content has definitely established him as a unruly person. In short, media usually publish article to serve their own purpose instead of disinterest attitude.

However, even the media can easily draw public's attention from people's drawbacks, its unprecedented promalgate power also accelerates public's acceptation of people as hero. To illustrate, one does not need to look further than the famous basketball yaoming. As the first famous basketball player in NBA, yaoming does not be widely accepted by American people. but after several years' effort and media's promalugate, Yao has become a basketball star in NBA.

In conclusion, media scrutiny is a double sides sword. The closer scrutiny may augment people's drawbacks, but it also possible to accept living people as hero.