The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

"In 1975 a wildlife census found that there were seven species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, with abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. There has been a substantial decline in the numbers of amphibians worldwide, and global pollution of water and air is clearly implicated. The decline of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, however, almost certainly has a different cause: in 1975, trout—which are known to eat amphibian eggs—were introduced into the park."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The editor asserts that the dramatic decline of amphibians in Xanadu national park due to the intruduction of trout. In order to substantitate this claim, the editor cites the fact that the abundance of amphibians in 1975, only four species of amphibians were observed in 2002, and trout is predator for amphibian eggs. however, the above evidences cannot rule out other possible explanations for the decline of amphibians.

Indeed, there is fact that the number of amphibians drop dramatically from 1975 to 2002 in the national park. however, there is other possibilities that may result in the decline of amphibians. perhaps, the local climate has become not as suitable for amphibians as before. if the amphibians cannot adapt the climate change, they may die or migrate to other more suitable environment which would result in the decline of their number in national park. Besides of climate change, it is also possible that the national park environment has become less friendly for amphibians during last decades. perhaps there are more and more tourists to destory the natural environment; perhaps the national park to build the new construction to destory the native environemnt; or perhaps the lack of budget deteriorate the environment. No mater the what cause the environment become unsuitable for amphibians, it is quite possible that environment change can result in the decline of amphibians.

Moreover, the evidence regarding the observation in 2002 is too vague to make any firm conclusion about the decline of amphibians, since the editor cannot prove the accuracy of the observation. if this observation is conducted by several natural conversatoin hobbists who are lack of professional equipment and knowledge, it is quite possible that the observation were not conducted by the right places at the right time. if this is the case, the observer may not fasely conclude that the number of amphibians has dropped dramatically while is not the fact. before demostrating the accuracy of the observation, we cannot exclude the possibility that the number of amphibians has not actually decline.

Even the national environment has not changed and the observation is accurate, it is also too hastily to conclude that the introduction of trout is the root of declining number of amphibians. since the editor does not provides any information about the trout, we cannot know whether the exists of trout has already threaten the living of amphibians. if the national park only introduce a tiny number of trout, it may not put a threat on the living of amphibians. And, we are not teld whether the eggs of amphibians is the only food of trout. if the eggs of amphibians are not the main food of trout, then the trout may also not cause significantly decline of the amphibians.

In a nutshell, there are several alternative explains for the observed decline of amphibians. if the editor cannot rule out the possiblity that the living condtion for amphibians has not changed, prove the accuracy of observation and establish the reasonable casuality between introudction of trout and decline of amphibians, the editor's conclusion may be untenable.