Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least on semester studying in foreign land

Colleges and universities play an integral role in shaping a student’s life. In addition to the learning and knowledge acquisition, schools are the one which transforms a human child into a citizen. Thus choosing the curriculum of the universities is the most responsible job which the policy makers of the nation should bear. In that perspective, I disagree with the given argument.

Studying in the foreign land is always an enthusiastic one. It puts forth myriad of opportunities before a student, expanding her horizon into an all new level. It aids the learner to collaborate with people of numerous culture, values and interest. In spite of all this, an adventure in a foreign country can convert even a taciturn into a gregarious person filling her with self-confidence and motivation. Students who need profound knowledge can find themselves amused by the oceanic knowledge that they can imbibe from where they are assigned abroad, not only just from books but also through intellectual professors and colleagues.

Keeping all the merits aside, the system of making abroad studies mandatory can cause untoward effects in plethora of ways. It lays down enormous burden on students in all ways possible both financial and emotional. Considering the economic part, a university comprises eclectic students: few may be from rural, some may be the first graduate of their family and some may be doing a part time job to afford for their studies. The change in curriculum will impose excess financial burden pushing them to a frenzy the consequence of which will be non conducive and may go as far as tremendous increase in drop out rates.

Taking into account the emotional strikes, finding a reputed foreign university can get very competitive creating an indirect ranking system. The one who gets the top ranked college will be accounted with reverence whereas the other will be hailed as derogatory. Already coping up with the existing pressure, this will further deepens the pupil’s mental stress leading to depression, anxiety, demotivation and many others.

Moving from the students’ point of view to the social point of view, the aftermath of this system will be deleterious as many private universities may increase their fee many fold and also entitled to veniality resulting in hoarding of enormous wealth in education sector causing monopoly of one conglomerate over another. Thus educational system as a whole becomes incorrigible and schooling turns myopic to the common man.

Juxtaposing both the arguments, one can easily conclude that the cost that a society has to pay as a whole for doing a semester abroad is not tantamount to the benefits reaped. Contemporary curriculum includes exchange programs and foreign university studies programs as optional and there is no harm in continuing the same.