Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The speaker of this issue states that studying in a foreign country for one semester must be implemented in the curriculum of universities and colleges. I acknowledge the issue as necessary and will proceed to give my viewpoint on why and how such an implementation will be meritorious for students in a holistic approach.

In most colleges and universities with international tie-ups, there are various summer exchange programs in which students can enroll to complete a semester abroad and gather knowledge and techniques from other faculty. I believe this helps the student to get perspective in learning by using different research laboratories and modern facilities which encourage innovation. Not all universities might have the resources to host cutting-edge research, hence student exchange programs are beneficial for students who do not want their learning spirit to diminish.

A different country is sure to have its own culture, different weather, and obviously a new mindset that prevails in the local masses. This is a fortuitous event for students who want to explore different languages and cultures while simultaneously learning and studying. Networking is one skill that can be easily picked up by mixing with people of different countries which is of prime importance for students who might be looking for opportunities in the future, for the sake of their careers. Acclimatizing to a new country among new people is difficult but it gives an individual a chance to become mentally stronger and broaden one's horizons by interacting with new people. There is no better way of realizing how different countries are tackling their national problems than by working in their laboratories firsthand.

However, not every college can afford to send their students to different countries because it requires a lot of resources and students might find it difficult to adjust to newer places among stranger communities. A sense of alienation might hinder the actual purpose of learning in a new setting which defeats the entire process of student exchange programs. Colleges must guarantee student safety and security before sending them abroad. The indigent and underprivileged students miss out on these opportunities for monetary reasons and hence cannot access these exchange program facilities which obstructs their right to better education.

Hence I would conclude by saying that the pros of the notion about universities sending students to different countries for a semester clearly outnumber the cons. Every student must once in their life visit a foreign nation, get out of their comfort zone, and experience learning from a different perspectives to give a detailed understanding of the curriculum.