Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

We are presented with a dichotomy between the nuances of education, where the former states that education sets the mind free and makes the spirit independent. In contrast, the latter believes in putting the mind and spirit behind bars. I mostly agree with the former and believe that proper education is not defined solely by written texts and academic accolades but by soft skills and life lessons that make us better versions of ourselves.

Education is not a new concept and has been in the picture for ages. In ancient times not everyone could afford proper education since schools were limited and teachers were in high demand. Parents would have to spend quite a fortune to get their kids under professional guidance which included not only science and philosophy but also swordsmanship, horse racing, and other royal subjects. Unfair though it might sound it did adorn the kings and princes with numerous skills that the layman could only dream of. In order to rule over kingdoms, one needed a strong grasp over politics and warfare alike. It would not be wrong to say that if empires were ruled by fools, it would lead to a never-ending cycle of chaos and poverty.

Talking about the modern world, education is liberating. The ease of access and profuse information over the internet makes it possible for more and more people to get access to cheaper and better knowledge in the comfort of their homes. Schools have become multifunctional with not only academic but a variety of co-scholastic activities that students can choose from, to develop as individuals. Most institutes these days prepare a student not only for exams and company interviews but for the vicissitudes of life as well. A student of science knows about finance and also knows how to establish professional communication. Hence proper education is enabling us to equip ourselves with skills that prepare us for every possible situation that life might throw at us.

However, nothing in this world is absolute and this prompt is not an exception. Formal education often can be prejudiced to local and national factors. Most times history books contain biased information to glorify national history or spread hatred for other nations. There can be factual errors and missing information that formal education deems unnecessary from an examination point of view. Hence, formal education puts a barrier to the spirit of inquiry by quantifying the syllabus.

Hence I firmly believe that proper education is liberating and one must always seek for developing one's mind through correct knowledge and a skill set necessary to face all odds in life. Knowledge is power and power creates successful men.