Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The international society is constituted of hundreds of countries and cultures, and, many people, around the world are interested in getting acquainted with various cultures because of the advantages they believe this event can bring to world. Due to such belief, one of the ideas that is stated in educational fields is that : colleges should provide conditions that their students could spend a semester in a foreign country to get the benefits of knowing and understanding other cultures. However, I believe that, this policy could be considered from both positive and negative aspects.

Getting acquainted with other societies, their values, educational systems and their routine life, certainly, cause students to have better understanding of other people condition, and how they live their lives, across the world. Thus, this travels can bring higher tolerance of different cultures and so leads to have more peaceful and calm world. Also, such travels give students worthy experience of living alone in unfamiliar situations or even work in new environments,and boost their ability to be independent and make them mature enough to get prepare to begin their real professional and personal lives and be more effective person for their nation. So, The mentioned policy implementation would be conducive in order to have more developed and peaceful country and world, consequently.

On the contrary, there are some negative impacts of holding mentioned policy, too. First, college students are usually in their early young ages and so have more fragile spirit. They may be harmed, spiritually when they are far from their family or feel homesickness. Also, They can be affected with unwanted changes, easily. They may accept many inappropriate traditions of other cultures that could be harmful for the original country. Also, because they are not experienced enough, it is likely to get deceived by malefactor people or attractions of new society and country can distract them from their study and retards their progress in their courses. Further, traveling to other countries can put financial pressure on families and countries. As a result, sending students to foreign countries can lead to negative effects for the society, too.

As what is mentioned above, while it could be beneficial that students spend some semesters in foreign cultures but it is important that authorities commit correct measures to prevent unwanted results of suggested policy.