Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Studying abroad brings a lot of new experiences to students. Being part of another culture learn students to think and act in another way than they used to. However, to require all of the students to study abroad is not factual. So, I partly agree with the statement that all students are required to study at least one semester abroad.

First of all, a positive part of studying abroad, is the fact that you have to reorganize your life in another country. Things which seems to be simple back home could lead to problems in a foreign country. Because students are going to encounter this problem they are triggered to find new and unusual solutions. An example is dealing with social issues. How do people say hello to each other or what is supposed to do if someone gives you a present? Students learn a lot when they face those questions and they feel that there are different expectations from foreign people.

Another argument is the ability to improve certain speaking and reading skills in another language. When students have to work together with students which are speaking other languages they have to find a way to communicate with each other. Nowadays, students will communicate in English mostly. Reading, listening and speaking skills will develop quickly if students have to talk in another language.

On the other hand, requiring students to study abroad is not a real option. First of all, students could get seriously financial problems if they have to study abroad mandatory. Studying abroad will cost a lot of money. It would be very rude if universities and colleges require this. Secondly, most of the students have jobs or recreational activities besides their school activities. Require a student to quit with these activities for a semester disproportionally. Universities do have the power to control what student have to do to pass exams, but having the power to control their entire life for a semester goes too far. Students could get in trouble with their work, family, friends or sports team if they are required to go abroad.

In the end, studying abroad brings a lot of positive experiences to a student. The students who study abroad will develop certain skills which are not developing in regular university or college programs. However, to mandatory students goes to far. There are a lot of personal reasons why students are unable to go abroad. To conclude, universities and colleges should do their best to promote going abroad, but the choice to go should be made by the students themselves.