Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Governments have to deal with a lot of problems. Some of the problems are relevant for tomorrow other problems are visible only in the age of years. The government have to think about those long-term problems and have to be proactive to counter those problems before it is too late to take action. So, governments have to be focussed on future problems next to today’s problems.

For example, global warming is a problem where the outcomes are barely visible now. We see small changes in water levels, temperature and ecosystems. However, if we do not do anything now the outcomes will be enormous in a couple of years. At that time problems are too big to fix on short term which leads to fatal disasters. Because we know about the development of those problems, there has to be a vision to counter those problems over many years which lead to an approach. If we wait till the results are clearly visible short-term actions of the government are way too late.

Another example is food problems in Africa. African farmers can’t grow food and as a result of that the African population is hungry. Governments who have a short-term vision will send food packages because it solves the result of a problem namely people who are hungry. Instead of sending food packages governments could choose to educate and learn African farmers how to treat their food in the best way, how to increase their production and how to minimalise hazard of failed harvest. By having a long-term policy governments have to invest once instead of tackle the result of a problem every year.

Another issue is the choice between preventing or curing. If we oversee problems we can make plans to prevent ourselves instead of curing ourself of the results of actions. Governments could make plans of education programs so that a country could educate their own people instead of buying expensive product in other countries. In this case it will cost a lot of money to make those education programs but buying year in year out will be much more expensive on long term. Preventing indicates a long-term vision which indicates that long-term policy is better than short-term policy.

After all, long-term policy is in most cases more valuable than short-term policy if we look into subjects as education, global warming and feeding problems. Tackling the problem instead of the result is the advice. Learn how to farm instead of giving food packages, educate people instead of buying the result of knowledge and oversee the long-term effect of handlings nowadays.