The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

Happy Pancake House replaced butter by margarine in their restaurants throughout southwest United States recently. The author offers some interesting arguments on this topic and claims that this change had a little impact on their customers for certain reasons. However, his claim did not include enough information and details and is arguments are based on assumptions.

First of all, the author claims that only 2 percent of customers have complained about their margarine on pancakes. He concluded that in this case, 98 percent of the people are happy with the change. It is easy to understand that 2 percent is a really low average but to conclude that everyone who did not complain is automatically happy is an assumption. Of course, there are people who did not complain but who are also not satisfied. When people are eating in a restaurant they want to have a good time and complaining is not a part of that atmosphere. In that 98 percent, there are absolutely people who are satisfied with margarine but it is an assumption to say that every one of the 98 percents is happy.

In addition, the author claims that many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Not complaining about an action does not automatically mean that people are satisfied with the service of giving margarine instead of butter. There are a lot of reasons why people do not complain because they do not want to lower a good atmosphere or they are too shy to complain.

There is also nothing known about the exactly amount of what is called ‘’a number of customers’’. There is a possibility that servers seeing not that many people a day which means that a number of people could be very much related to the total amount of people which are seen by servers. Because there is nothing known about the exact amount of a number of customers there is not a possibility to make a valid argument.

To summarise, that only 2 percent of the people complained about the replacement of butter does not automatically mean that the other people are glad about it. Also the fact that a number of people did not complain when they are given margarine instead of butter and some unknown details about the exact amount of what is called a number of customers. The reasons above prove that the argument lacks information and seems to provide inchoate assumptions. The memorandum had to present more concrete evidence to support the claim and make the argument more cogent.