Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The grading system has been around for years. It is used to measure knowledge of the students, however the argument

surrounding the education system is focused around the competition of high grades leading to the diminishing quality of learning. Starting as early as pre-school, children’s knowledge is assessed. Can a student write their ABCs, or count to ten. In second and third grade, the child may have to begin reading chapter books and answering follow-up questions. In fifth grade some students are tested on their multiplication tables. Fast forward to middle school where students are tested in geography, basic algebra, science questions and high school tests chemistry concepts, essay clarity, and statistics.

In general, it would be hard to eliminate grades and testing. From a teacher’s standpoint there is no other way to assess where each student is without testing. Testing is used to help a teacher understand where their students are excelling and where they may need extra assistance. High grades on those tests assure both the student and professor that they are succeeding in academics.

Some would argue that if teachers focus too much on high grades the quality of learning is being compromised because their focus is not on the students. Some students flourish in the academic setting. High grades come easily, but for others, high grades seem far out of reach. Some students that struggle achieving high grades may still be successful, so teachers should focus on improving the quality of education so each child can learn to their maximum capability. Grading can also be subjective, especially in subjects such as writing. In math there is a right and wrong answer, but even between teachers there are many differences. Some teachers make it easier to achieve high grades by asking easier questions on tests. When students succeed it looks better for the professor as well. With this in mind, high grades competitions are unfair and diminish the quality of education, but the competition between teachers and students also may motivate for success.

Overall, there are many negatives to the grading system, however it is still hard to eliminate the grading system. Instead of focusing on the competition of high grades, both students and teachers should focus on high quality of learning, which is easier said than done, but for all levels of education high grades suggest success, which all students deserve. The competition of high grades motivates many student and teachers for success.