Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Anthropologist studies are vital to understanding cultures. To study cultures there are many different formats from general observation, to interviews, surveys, and participant observation. Anthropology is a large field, some big subfields include language, economy, and kinship. Both Dr. Field and Dr. Karp choose to study kinship in the Tertian culture, but the conclusions they both drew were uniquely different. Dr. Field noted that the children in the Tertian village appeared to be reared by the whole village rather than the biological parents. This could mean that the children of Tertian were molded and shaped by each person they met and heavily impacted by the culture as a whole. However, Dr. Karp used a different method through interviews and claimed that the children of Tertian were mainly reared by their biological parents.

While both anthropologists spent lots of time studying the Tertian village culture, Dr. Field’s observation may have been limited to what he was viewing outside of the individual homes. An important question to be discussed may be how much time children spend in the home versus outside in the community. By answering this question, it is possible to have more clarity on where children may pick up their habits and behaviors, especially because children interact with many different people throughout the day, such as their own biological parents, but teachers, friends, religious leaders, doctors. Something to notice is Dr. Karp drew his conclusions based on how much the children of Tertian talked about their biological parents versus the entire village. It may be necessary to ask the questions very directly about who the children look up to and why. This gives children the opportunity in an interview to talk about who raised them and why they are who they are. Dr. Karp also focused on asking children the questions, whereas it is important to ask the opinions of adults too. The adults may have different views when raising their children.

It is possible that both anthropologists could have tackled the kinship and family/community ties by both interviewing and observing the village. With that being said there are many questions to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based on are reasonable such as how much time the children spend in home versus the community. Who the children look up to and how the adults raise the children of the village. There are many other questions that could be asked to understand whether the argument is reasonable, but that would be up to future anthropologists.