The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The WWAC radio station is facing challenges that many other radio stations face. The WWAC radio station is experiencing a decline in listener numbers and they are searching for the best plan to bring back numbers, resulting in profits. The WWAC radio station has the right idea when they mentioned, “We must make listeners of these new residents.” Any radio station must be aware of their listeners; specifically, the genre. In order for this to be possible, the radio station is going to need to prepare a well thought out plan to reverse the decline in listener numbers.

First off, it is important for the radio station to collect data on who is listening to the station and try to promote the station to those who are not listeners yet, but some specific evidence needed to evaluate this argument is understanding the population breakdown. This could be done through a large outreach survey. This survey could either strengthen or weaken the argument of changing the radio station to a news and talk format. Some citizens may prefer music. If that is the case, the radio station must find out what genre of music and how often to play and this would weaken the argument. However, considering the age of the new residents to the area many may prefer the news and talk format. The radio station must use a survey to discover what type of news and topics interests the citizens. It may also be important to find data to support the political views that are in this station range. The radio station could also ask for suggestions from listeners, so that they can maintain the loyal station listeners. It may be risky for the station to lose the listeners they already have by changing the format. This could be solved with certain hours allocated to different listeners, but the data to make this call would come out of a survey.

The argument that the WWAC radio station should change from music to a news and talk show is a decision that requires meticulous thought. In order to strengthen that argument, the news station is going to need some personal data from the surrounding listeners. Unfortunately, the survey could lead to evidence that would weaken the argument, but regardless the evidence is needed in order to make a good decision.