The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The city of Calatrava is facing some unique challenges over the next couple generations. According to a committee member of Calatrava, the budget for the next ten years can be re-arranged significantly due to population changes. The committee member is preparing to reallocate public school funds and recreational facilities for children to city facilities and programs used by adults, because the birthrate in Calatrava in declining. The committee member is assuming that because birthrates are declining significantly, there will be less children that the city needs to pay for. While there is lots of evidence to support this committee member’s plan, the committee member may also need to consider some different arguments before making a complete informed decision.

First the committee member assumes that the overall town population is not going to continue to grow significantly, but rather just age. If the money is allocated from children funds to adult funds in Calavara, the city must be prepared for a change in population demographics. Evidence shows that birth rates are already dropping by one half of five years ago, but people move in and out of cities often. If the city of Calavara moves the money funds around, the city must commit to a population of adults and not a family-oriented city.

Furthermore, cities without families may start to fade away, because there is no one to take over the jobs as the population continues to age. If other cities are more children and family-oriented people may move away leaving a population decrease even larger than previously assumed. Therefore, it is important for the committee member to realize the significance of supporting the adult population. It may be worth collecting data from the current population to see where the citizens of Calavara would like the money to be invested to ensure that they want to stay and live in Calavara.

Overall the committee member’s budget plan makes sense based solely on the birth-rate evidence and would be beneficial for a temporary 10 year plan, however more data is needed to help prepare for the future. If the money is moved from children funds to adult funds, families may move away and the population will continue to shrink, but if the community decides that they want the funds moved to adult programs it may bring in an older generation and be a community that supports things like retirements, which may also strengthen the committee members conclusion. Regardless, there is data that could strengthen or weaken the committee member’s claim, there for more evidence is needed before the judgement call is made.