Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

The author infers that critical judgment only by those who are so-called "expert" is valuable. Fields such as math, science sometimes required professional knowledge and education to make critical comments. However nowadays as society becomes more complex, majority of laymen could be more helpful than minority of so-called "experts". What is more, general people can develop field by regarding aspects that experts usually neglect.

First of all, some people argue that there are many fields which layman could not provide proper judgement. For example, let us consider the paper about Higgs particle. In general, laymen are unlikely to make critical comments, nor will they fully understand the theory itself. Likewise consider the space craft project planned by NASA for example. We do not expect the layman to make valuable assessment about the project.

However, as society is being complex, a number of layman may be better than a few experts as the term "Collective Intelligence" implies. There are many examples which were succeed by general people. Wikipedia, for example, is one of the most popular on-line dictionary. Wikipedia allows everyone to freely write, edit and remove. Even though some people doubt its credibility when the dictionary service first started, people in all over the world now used the dictionary currently. Likewise, Open-source is the program code which is open to everyone for editing, making and removing. It usually makes greater performance than restricted code which allows only experts to edit and there are many great programs that employ open-source system. As we can see from these examples, there are lots of superior achievements that not only experts but also laymen had participated.

Finally by giving nonprofessional an opportunity to criticize, the field can get innovative solutions. Many problems can solve by regarding other aspect which outsiders are more likely to provide. There were many burdensome problems which outsiders solve. For example consider Apple one of the greatest IT company. As we all know Steve Jobs, an legendary leader, saved Apple from its inferior sales record, even though he majored philosophy and physics not a computer science in Reed College. He had provided successful solutions by adopting alternative view: He focused to consumer experience, not a technical aspect and developed singular user interface. As a result, Apple achieved huge success. In eighteenth country, merchants in Paris had to use many candle to light up their store in winter because of its short daytime. As a result, cost of candles were burdensome to them and they considered lots of solutions such as developing efficiency of candles, lowering the price of candles, etc. However none of trials solved the problem. Benjamin Franklin, however, finally presented an innovative solution: changing country's time twice a year so that the time corresponds to the daytime. As a result the merchants did not need candle to light anymore, and this solution is origin of 'summer time'. As these examples imply, by involving non-expert in discussion, many problems can be solved by innovative trial.

In conclusion, I admit that judgments by layman could have limited value in some fields. However as complexity of society has become greater, layman could perform better when they collaborate and they could also present innovations by breaking stereotype of experts. Therefore I disagree with the author.