The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

The author claims that customers in Happy Pancake House restaurants do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine because of the server's report that few of them who asked butter complained when the restaurant provide them margarine. He or she offers an interesting arguments, but it suffers from some logical flaws and gaps in evidence. While connections suggested looks reasonable, there are many other possible scenarios that should discourage author from assuring the claim.

First of all, author assumes that average of 98 people out of 100 were happy with the margarine just because they had not complained. However people does not always complain whenever they are not satisfied. They might not complain for several reasons. For example, they might hesitate to make server embarrassed, they might be indifferent to the change, or they might be reluctant to waste their times for showing their unhappiness. They might choose other option than complaining: not revisiting, writing a bad review in their blog, etc. We can not be sure that they were really content with the change without more information. What is more, the author does not offer precise information about who was considered to calculate the ratio. The restaurant might have small proportion of menu which includes butter. Only 10% or smaller ratio of customers might ordered menu that includes butter. So we must prompted to ask "was 2 percent was calculated by considering all customers including who was not served butter, or was it calculated by considering only those who was served butter?" If former is the case, high proportion of customers who face the change might actually express their discontent about the change.

Secondly, the author also assumes that customers do not separate butter from margarine or they include margarine in their term 'butter' based on server's report. However there is no reason to believe that sever always tell truth. Severs might hide truth for several reasons. They might want to flatter their boss or they might be think customer's complain implies their incompetence and reluctant to show their incompetence etc. We need detailed information such as direct survey to customers to assure that small ratio of customers complain when they are served margarine instead.

Let us assume, though that server's report was truth. However we can not take it for granted that they do not discern butter and their term 'butter' represents either butter or margarine merely because they do not complain. They might not complain just because they prefer margarine than butter. Or they might be indifferent to whether served dish includes margarine or butter. Without more precise explanation of the reason why the consumers did not complain, we can not determine whether they distinguish butter from margarine or not.

To sum up, the author's assumption that customers do not discriminate between butter and margarine or their term 'butter' refer either butter or margarine is logically flawed based on above mentioned reasons. He or she should closely examine all the conditions and other factors. In conclusion, the author's argument reflects unsupported claims without clear reasons or evidence.