"The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large.”

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

Maximizing profits at the expense of social and economic welfare has remained a debatable issue for a long time. Although corporations' primary goal is to generate profits in order to survive in a competitive market, nonetheless it is equally important to realize the negative externalities created by their activities. In my opinion, failure to do so, results in suffrage of social, environmental and economic welfare.

Corporations can go to any lengths to achieve their means. They engage in unethical practices at the expense of consumer welfare, in order to generate as much profits as possible. For instance, industrial units dispose of their hazardous waste into fresh water sources in order to save disposal costs, without regard to the health hazards it creates or the destruction of natural resources it renders.

Furthermore, corporations fail to realize their duty as a member of a nation by opting for cost-cutting measures, even if it creates a dilemma for the society as a whole or it seems inhumane. For instance, many developing nations are still battling with child labor. Corporations find it easy to manipulate these underage workers and pay them less than required by the adult worker. Poor working conditions and unfair wage structures are a result of corporations' to maximize profits at all costs.

However, it is important to note that earning profits or striving to maximize profits is not inherently detrimental to nations. It becomes so only when corporations ignore legal and ethical concerns involved in the process of doing business. If a corporation indulges in proper business ethics, stays within the legal framework and plays a responsible role in the society, then there is no harm in pursuing a profit-maximizing goal.

Conclusively, corporations' goal of maximizing profits occasionally conflicts with economic welfare because corporations fail to recognize and realize their duty as a member of the society. They engage in illegal, unethical and inhumane practices at the expense of social welfare. Shareholder wealth maximization is not a detrimental goal in its true sense, however the means to pursue it make it so. If corporations remain within their legal and ethical boundaries, there is no harm in trying to improve their bottom line figures.