The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The issue of preparing the youth for leadership by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, rather than competition is not as straightforward as it may seem. While a sense of competition is a prerequisite for working harder than others, it can have detrimental effects in terms of provoking people to adopt unethical or illegal means to acheive their goal. On the other hand, a sense of cooperation has a higher probability of leading to a more harmonized work environment, where people are genuinely solicitious about each other's well-being. However, merely focusing on cooperation could lead to uncritical self-satisfaction and loss of the urge to succeed.

In my opinion, cooperation could be the best way to prepare the youth for leadership positions to a certain extent. Cooperation has a slightly more positive aura about it, than competition. The difference between a boss and a good leader is more about charisma, personality and work ethics, than about creating a competitive work environment, where everyone is trying to get ahead of others. A good leader instills his own qualities into his subordinates. Therefore, it is important to inculcate a sense of togetherness and the importance of joint efforts among the leaders, so that they can disseminate such feelings in their followers.

It could be argued that by focusing more on cooperation than competition, leaders might lose a sense of purpose. Afterall, any business entity's main concern is to survive in the market, which requires a sense of competition in order to put in more effort than others. Lack of competitive urges could lead to complacency and eventually bankruptcy. Therefore, a sense of competition, to some extent, is essential, along with a sense of cooperation. Both must work hand-in-hand in order to create efficient and effective leaders.

In order to uphold moral principles and values, leaders must realize how far their competitive urges can take them, without leading them to unethical or illegal courses of action. Competiting within the acceptable boundaries of socially and legally acceptable practices, is essential for survival and success in any field, may it be the government, industry or any other avenue. For example, Prime Ministers and Presidents need this sense of competition, in order to make their countries more efficient and effective in the global landscape. If they merely focus on cooperation with other nations, they could be easily taken advantage of by dupilicitious nations. However, excessive focus on competitiveness could provoke them and their subordinates to indulge in malfeasance.

Conclusively, preparation of future leadership of countries, industries, corporations etc., mandates the instillation of both a sense of cooperation and competition. It is an 'and' situation, rather than an 'or' situation. One without the other could have a detrimental effect on the leaders' area of authority. Thus, in order to maintain a harmonious environment, with a focus on efficiency and effectiveness, without inculcating venal and unethical characteristics, it is imperative to focus on both traits to some extent. In short, the drawbacks of one could be compensated for by the other.