'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The recommendation of increasing viewership and decreasing loss of advertising revenue by devoting more time to weather and local news, seems logical at first glance. However, it cannot be accepted at face value for a number of reasons. The business manager fails to provide the statistics regarding how much more time was devoted to national news and how much time was taken away from weather and local news. Moreover, data is needed regarding the number of complaints received regarding the issue and whether those complaints were related to the time devotion of the local and weather news sections. Likewise, data regarding change in viewership is required to determine whether there has been a fall or not. Furthermore, attributing loss of advertising revenue with lower weather and local news is a classic case of confusing correlation with causation. Thus, further evidence is needed before making a decision.

Firstly, the business manager mentions increased time devoted to national news, which is perceived to be taken away from local and weather news. However, data regarding the exact time changes is needed, to make a valid argument for the case. It could be that more national news is being shown because there are less advertising campaigns to air. In this scenario, the overall time for local and weather news might not have changed at all. Thereby, eliminating the need to change the time devoted to local and weather news.

Secondly, the memorandum mentions complaints regarding local and weather news. However, it fails to mention what those complaints were about. The viewers might not have a problem with the time devotion of the weather and local news, rather their content might be inadequate or inaccurate. Therefore, further information is needed to analyze whether the viewers actually have a problem with the time or not. Moreover, 'most' is a vague word. It requires statistical backing to ensure that indeed a higher number of complaints were regarding the issue at hand, rather than other issues. Besides, it is important to determine whether the complaints have actually led to a fall in viewership of the channel or not. If there has been no decrease even after such complaints, then the recommendation fails to serve its purpose. Furthermore, information about the nature of the other complaints could also provide insight into other prevalent issues of the station, which might be adversely affecting the inflow of advertising revenue.

Thirdly, considering loss of advertising revenue a result of lower air times for local and weather news could be a flawed assumption. They could be happening simultaneously, stimulated by entirely different factors, rather than one being caused by another. Further investigation must be done, e.g. by interviewing the businesses regarding the reasons behind cancelling contracts. It is wrong to assume that it is because of lower local and weather news air times.

Conclusively, before making any decision, it is imperative to look into the statistical evidence of changes in air time over the past year. Moreover, the nature and number of the complaints need to analyzed. Furthermore, a decrease in viewership needs to be determined before assuming that it has occurred. Likewise, reasons behind loss of advertising revenue must be investigated thoroughly, prior to associating them with the issue at hand. Once the aforementioned evidence is provided, a well-informed decision can be made.