The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation to allocate a greater budget to advertising next year, in order to create public awareness about the availability of good quality movies, sounds reasonable to some extent. However, some questions need to be clarified before opting for it.

Firstly, the memo mentions that fewer people attended the company's movies last year, despite a higher percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific movies. It is important to note that the increase in positive reviews was for certain movies, and not all of them. It could be the case that the people who attended the movies this year, only saw the movies with higher positive reviews. In such a scenario, the public is actually aware of the movie reviewers' reviews and further expenditure on advertising would fail to achieve its purpose.

Secondly, information regarding, which movies received greater positive reviews and the change in number of people who attended those specific movies, needs to be correlated. Without such data, assuming a correlated or causal relationship could have erroneous results. People might not be interested in the movie reviewers' opinions at all. They might simply pick a movie based on their personal preferences or some other factor.

Thirdly, the memo assumes that there is no problem with the quality of the movies. However, the increase in positive reviews only for specific movies could indicate that the other movies were sub-standard or lacked originality. Thereby, people didn't attend those movies. Moreover, as the passage does not provide information regarding the reviews of other movies, it could be assumed that there were negative reviews as well. Such reviews could have also reached the public and thus, people avoided those movies.

Fourthly, even if it is accepted as true that the problem is lack of public awareness, the memo assumes that the best way to ameliorate the situation is through advertising. Before making any decision, all modes of creating public awareness should be explored. The target customers need to be surveyed to analyze which medium they use most often. For example, rather than advertising, people might be reached more effectively through interactive sessions with the actors on famous television talk shows. Or they might be attracted through a 'buy-2-get-1-free movie ticket' offer. Data regarding the reachability and potential of each marketing medium needs to be analyzed before taking any decision.

Conclusively, without meaninful data, focusing more on advertising may not create any further positive impact. Rather, it could lead to wastage of scarce resources. People could already be aware of the positive reviews and thus, they only attended the movies which received them. Moreover, statistical information, regarding correlation and/or causation between the change in positive reviews and the change in movie attendance, is needed. Furthermore, the rest of the movies need to be evaluated for their content and public awareness. The reviews for those movies are also required to unearth the real reason behind a fall in attendance for those movies. Besides, assuming that the problem identified by the advertising director holds true, focusing merely on advertising may not prove fruitful. All mediums of creating public awareness need to be evaluated before opting for the recommendation.