Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

This topic raises the arguable issue of whether discussing controversial topics with seemingly cantrasting minded people is wasting of time or not. Indisputably, when contrasted minded people sit together to discuss something, it often leads the discussion into an argument which was not intended. Nevertheless, argument over an controversial topic can really useful in revealing the pro & cons of both sides of the controversy. Thus, I generally disagree with the claim that discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful and would argue against it.

First of all, discussing doesn't mean that every participating person have to agree on a similar issue. I would like to point out that if a discussion is about a controversial topic, then it is obvious that there will people who doesn't agree to each other on that topic. To illustrate, let us look at the example of finding out the best footballer of current time. In this circumstance, obviously there will be people arguing about different players to be the best. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that the discussion will produce many different perspective of a player's quality.

Furthermore, discussing a controversial topic with similar minded people can certainly lead to biased output of a discussion. Specifically, that discussion will merely provide any brainstorming or arguement. Hence, all the evidence shows that discussion of controversial topic must include people who have contrasting views.

Admittedly, a discussion of contrasted people may lead to quarrel or anrchy. This is specially true when they are dicussing about political issues. In addition, sometimes they even stop the discussion the middle of a argument. However, I still don't support idea of not making contrasted people sit together to discuss a controversial topic. Because, it will generate more goodsthan it will generate any bad.

In conclusion, although there are slight problems associated with it, discussing controversial topics with contrasting will produce productive discussion. As long as there are some measurements to be performed and some areas to be included, this will hold true for the controversial topics.