Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Whenever you questioned someone's beliefs, you normally have to face criticism. I agree It's peculiarly normal in our society. Your fundamental education is always being questioned when you enter to the Litmus society. For example, if you talk about the traditional practices which in practice by some family or community in your society, it will amaze you with their fundamental beliefs and their trust in their religion or their culture. And being questioned about their belief and the peculiarity of their culture and religion can make this controversial and more precisely can hurt their sentiments.

There are several practices happens under every religion or culture, which sounds very odd and sometimes very unnecessary. If you see some religions perform several kinds of practices, for example, the self-hurt happens in Muslim Shia culture. They basically hurt themselves for a month just to simulate the situation occur to their ancestors or the condition they were in during their end time. It's very inappropriate to practice these kinds of practices on yourself, because as far as I know no religion tells you to hurt your body or disproportionate your physical self for your ancestors. And the most interesting thing is the upcoming educated youth of this religion is quite familiar with these kinds of abnormalities. But they still silent on these topics. That just not bad for yourself, it's also very wrong with the education you adopted.

And this thing becomes a very normal practice in their religion, even questioned by their fellow scholars, they don't want to rethink the situation. No one has ever being successful to change their minds because it is their own core beliefs.

In India, the country which is known for the biggest democratic country and for the unity of mixed religions in the country often comes into the state of controversies of traditional practices by different religions. And I feel it all because of the illiteracy in that country. I believe due to more than half of the country is below the literacy rate causes these consequences. Because you won't see this kind of behavior in the society of literate people. Also because education gives us the freedom to think and a field of understanding the unfamiliar cultures or practices.

In Conclusion, I want to say being literate can solve these controversies happening due to the question on your core beliefs. And the day will come when people will think or work on it openly.