Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Yes, Obviously. If you want to convince somebody over an argument then you have to share your perspective of the whole situation. But it should be solid. and, by solid, I mean, it should be something which supports by a strong statement which will clear your doubts. All the theories, you have seen or learned in the science or more like in Astrophysics, are totally based on the physical observations explained by the scientists. For Example, That the earth is round, this theory not just negotiated or being debated by a scientist, they did prove it with the help of the satellite's camera by bleak all the information around the globe and show it to the world by holding a press conference. Ans, also the theories stated given by scientists like Gravitational force explained by Albert Einstein during 1900s because there was no physical proof or they don't have any instruments to validate the einstein hypothesis that's why Einstein had to support his theory with some practical mathematical equation. So, what I mean to say that you always need strong solid support to defend your hypothesis or your perspective.

Actually, This is what happens in our society these days, Everyone is getting brainwash by the powerful peoples, and by powerful, I meant the people who control our world or our media. Yes, our Media. Most politicians have bought most of the channels of their respective country to just show what they wanted to show. And, the country which has a poor literacy rate compared to their population has been brainwashed due to the lack of intelligence or common sense. That is also, the reason for the poor leadership selection during elections. Because they only show people what they want to see and make them believe that they are the right choice, and due to the lack of analytical skills, most people cast their vote to the wrong government.

The brainwashing starts from the mid-1950s when the influence of television was so strong. After observing the influence of television over the population, Most of the companies start using it for the advertisements and purpose, after some time, it starts using by the elections and campaign or stuff. The impact of the news channel is so big over our life. Because we always seek the truth from in their words. But nowadays, everything has changed, now they use these channels to publicise their good acts and build the fake image into the mind of illiterate people. Also, confuse the literate part too.

in conclusion, I want to say that every argument needs to be defended by both viewpoints of yours and your opposition too. There should be a healthy debate