Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs

According to the speaker discussion about controversial topics with person different perspective is not useful. Because he thinks that very few people changes their mind when it comes to their core beliefs. But, if we think about it controversy is rise from the people with different perspective and beliefs. And to solve that particular problem we need the communication to find common ground. As well as from discussing the topic with person who's perspective is different, we can see that topic with different angle. When we share our own views and listen to the others with different views we can learn more about topics as we get to know why they thinks their position on that situation is right or vice verse. From discussing the problem we can come up with solution.

In India, Ayodhya from past 28 years dispute between Babri Masjid and Ram temple is going on in Delhi high court, even in 1992 riot between hindus and muslim was occur due to this topic. and finally court has announce result of the case in 2020 and settle the dispute for once and forever. This was the result of countless hearing from both the parties.

We can agree with speaker on point that very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs. But only because of that not talking about issue with people those have different views on that topic is obscure. If we close the bridge of communication with others we can never find the solution, hence that results in long lasting bitterness and controversies. Therefore I am disagree with speaker.