Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Beliefs form the cornerstone of our various world views and they can vary tremendously from person to person. The author suggests that discussions with people possessing contrasting views is superfluous since such discussions rarely result in a change of mind. I disagree with this for the below reasons.

Firstly, the assumption that belief systems are entrenched deeply and are not changeable seems to be far from truth. Human beings constantly evolve and shape new beliefs and opinions based on the new data and inputs that their everyday life experiences present them. For example, Buddha who was himself, enlightened after seeing suffrage in the world, went on to inspire plenty of other people with his teachings. One among these was Angulimaala - a cruel, reprobate who underwent drastic change after his encounter with Buddha. A cogent discussion can easily encourage a person to rethink their existing belief systems.

Effectiveness of a discussion can't be measured solely based on whether it was able to change a person's mind after the discussion. Change happens gradually - especially when it's a change in a person's long held views. A thief might not be persuaded at once to stop theft. But, a continuous, patient effort to explain why stealing is bad and providing satisfactory answers to the fairness of the indignant treatment he received all his life - could effectively correct his behaviour. A single discussion might not bring the intended results. But, each one of them surely sparks and develops a thought process in the other way.

Controversial discussion is not always about one group succeeding to convince the other group of their righteousness. There is no single correct world view in most cases. It depends on the time and circumstances. But what matters the most in these cases is to not have a strong belief in the moral righteousness or superiority of their own world view, with a disain and contempt for everyone else's way of thinking. One should be ready to respect differing views on the same matter even if they don't personally hold that view.

Therefore, discussing controversial topics with those with different views should be encouraged since they help widen the perspective and might even succeed in correcting wrong behaviours. Mankind and morality is constantly evolving and it is such discussions and societal influences that can push civilisations to reach greater heights.