Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed

The author states that “the education institution has responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing a field of study in which they likely to succeed” in my opinion it seems equivocal to me as it might turn out to fruitful or it may lead to detrimental effects.

Firstly, if teacher is given responsibility to dissuade student, there might be a chance that teacher might misconstrue the real potential of the students and dissuade him or her from the subjects which can turn out fruitful to them, for instance taking an example of Michael Jordan a paragon of basketball aspirant was dissuade from his school basketball team, it might be possible that at some instances teacher might misinterpret the real potential of the students which eventually have a deleterious effect.

Secondly, if teacher interpret student potential wisely then it turns out to be boon for student as they dedicate most of the time horn their area of interest and ignoring the subjects which have no importance to their interest, for instance taking an example of students who have interest in boxing can dedicate most of time to practice the moves which eventually helps him to be a good boxer rather than dedicated to the subject which has no relevance to his interest.

Thirdly, the teacher is an integral part of student life which help him to become a most accomplished person and help to get an insight of life by his experiences and understanding for life as whole teacher always want their student to be best but ignoring the student real interest that for some instances teacher may misinterpret which may turn deleterious

Conclusively, education institutions are an integral part of student life, giving them the responsibility of dissuade students from subject they are unlikely to succeed, seems logical at first glance but ignoring the instances of misinterpretation and students real interest authors claim cant hold water.