As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of
humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.
In all actuality, I think it is more probable that our bodies will surely
deteriorate long before our minds do in any significant amount. Who can’t say
that technology has made us lazier, but that’s the key word, lazy, not stupid.
The ever increasing amount of technology that we incorporate into our daily
lives makes people think and learn every day, possibly more than ever before.
Our abilities to think, learn, philosophize, etc. may even reach limits never
dreamed of before by average people. Using technology to solve problems will
continue to help us realize our potential as a human race.
If you think about it, using technology to solve more complicating problems
gives humans a chance to expand their thinking and learning, opening up whole
new worlds for many people. Many of these people are glad for the chance to
expand their horizons by learning more, going to new places, and trying new
things. If it wasn’t for the invention of new technological devices, I wouldn’t be
sitting at this computer trying to philosophize about technology. It would be
extremely hard for children in much poorer countries to learn and think for
themselves with out the invention of the internet. Think what an impact the
printing press, a technologically superior mackine at the time, had on the ability
of the human race to learn and think.
Right now we are seeing a golden age of technology, using it all the time
during our every day lives. When we get up there’s instant coffee and the
microwave and all these great things that help us get ready for our day. But we
aren’t allowing our minds to deteriorate by using them, we are only making
things easier for ourselves and saving time for other important things in our
days. Going off to school or work in our cars instead of a horse and buggy.
Think of the brain power and genius that was used to come up with that single
invention that has changed the way we move across this globe.