Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational institutions are the places where students shape their carrer. In other words, educational institutions guide students to choose right track to move forward. In the prompt presented by the author, it is claimed that eductional institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in ehich they are unlikely to succeed. I mostly agree to the claim above for the following three reasons i have mentioned below.

Firstly, majority of the students while pursuing any field of study are in their juvenile phase of life. They might or might not be matured or capable enough to make right decisions for their future. There is chances that he may choose any arbitrary field of study for several reasons like any friend urging him/her to study any particular subject, he/she may get attracted to some emerging fields that may not be lasting for long run etc. Moreover, every individual is different on his/her own. Since, students spend majority of their academic time in the educational institutions they are understood by the institutions better. So, the institutions can encourage students to pursue field of study in which the students have higher chances of sucess.

Secondly, educational institutions for students can be compared as financial advisors of a company. There are several instances when a company have been suggested a extraordinary advice preventing a company's collapse. It is human nature to take risk, but one should carefully analyze the risks associated and benefits offered. While students want to pursue a particular field of study it is from an individual perspective but educational institutions can add a broad perspective on that.

Thirdly,many things that happen in our life seems extremely difficult and somtimes even impossible. for instance; Mark Zuckerberg when he made facebook, it was just for using among the classmates at the university. It seemed nearly impossible at that particular time that facebook would reach to every nook and corners of the world. Since, internet facilities were not pervasive as it is now and people were not cognizant about social media. Had he been dissuaded by educational institutions would he still be sucessful?

In nutshell, in some cases education institutions may not be reliable to the extent to be dependent on them for pursuing fields of study. However, that small disadvantage is outweighed by the benefits offered by education institutions in majority of the cases. So, I mostly agree with the claim that educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.