Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Educational institutions are places where people develop their character, groom themselves in a way to evolve into successful persons and good human beings. Every student studying in an educational institute has an equal right to choose whatever is the best stream in which he/she is intrested in to build a future in that particular work. However, in author's view the educational institutes must dissuade students from pursuing the fields of study in which they are not likely to gain success.Although, I do not comply with the authors argument completely.

In my view, nowadays, the evolving nature of science and advancements in technology open a new door of a field of study each and every day. The fields of study for a student to choose from for one's future are far more greater than in the previous times. No field of study, now has a limited scope or diminished path to achieve success. A student having a keen intrest in studying a particular subject or field of study, must be given equal importance and encouragement to move forward in his path. In fact, rather than opposing or preventing students to take up a particular field of study, the educational institutes must motivate the students to explore new fields of study and pursue what the students are really intrested in.

For instance, in India back in time, every parent and teacher always wanted a student who has cleared high school to take up science and pursue engineering or medical in future. This attitude back then never allowed a student to think about or go about in a field which he/she dreamt or was interested in. With undue pressure from one's parents and teachers, one had to take up either of the above two. Similarly, for this prompt, educational institutes must not force a student to take up a particular field of study without consulting the student about one's intrests and passion.

We have some great examples all through the history who have achieved some extraordinary things which none of us could have imagined, especially not the institutions where they studied. We all know Apple’s founder Steve Jobs. He did not have it all planned out, after the first year in college he dropped out, with no particular passion to go for. Later to earn money, he came with a plan and teamed up with Steve Wozniak to build an integrated computer that people will end up loving, and gradually created today’s Apple. Had his professors discouraged him by telling that he should not go for building computers as he will be unlikely to succeed, we would not have the Apple we know today.

In conclusion the decision to choose a field of study must be left to the individual itself. The educational institutes must in fact, bolster the students and correct their way if they go wrong somewhere but not discourage them by saying that they will not succeed in what they do.