Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Education includes various fields from general knowledge such as math and English to more specified subjects which are perhaps strongly related to one’s future job. Some argue that teachers are those for aiding students to focus on developing their talented abilities while reducing wasted efforts on relatively less talented fields. However, this idea seems to be drawn by the misconception of education’s fundamental roles and talented students.

Firstly, educational institutions are where providing opportunities for students to access various fields and enjoy them rather than concentrating on one’s great possibility of success. There are lots of students who are playing the piano, but not everyone is talented enough to become a professional pianist. Although many of them acknowledge the fact, they still go to an academy, pay money, and keep learning how to play the piano. They are not like wasting one’s time or money, but just playing it as a hobby. Everyone has their freedom to select a hobby, and whether one has a great talent for a certain area does not a big deal. Therefore, in spite of the students do not show enough possibility to success, there is no reason to prevent them from doing it - they can simply enjoy it as a hobby.

Secondly, there are only vague clues to determine whether students are gifted in certain fields. Everyone has a different speed in acquiring something, and it can be accelerated or decelerated during the steps of learning. For example, there can be two types of students in Spanish class. One is those who have a great ability to learn new expressions; the other is those with a better ability to apply grammatical rules even for complicated sentences. At the beginning of class, a teacher might judge the first group as talented in learning a language. However, as the sentences get complicated to simply memorize, the second group will start showing a better performance. If a teacher judged the second group as less talented at the beginning of class and dissuaded them from learning Spanish, it would be impossible to discover their great learning language ability in a different aspect.

Concentrating on a certain talented area might increase the possibility of being successful, so one might insist as the given assertion. However, it deviates from educational institutions’ fundamental roles: assisting students to experience various fields. Furthermore, no one can perfectly judge one’s ability with its complicated nature. Therefore, preventing students from spending time on their less talented areas is improper.