Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Discovering a student's capability and redirecting him towards a particular field in which they are more likely to succeed is a new practise that is being performed in various educational institutions on an international scale. This technique is highly praise-worthy and must be thoroughly supported because various evidences in the past has proved that if an individual is provided an opportunity to do what he has a passion for then he is highly likely to excel in that field. For instance, if legends like Martin Luther king, Mahatma Gandhi, Nelson Mandela were prevented from entering politics then the world would not have better like it is now.

First of all, the proposed issue is mainly devoted towards preventing students from entering a field that they are highly prone to fail. This method secretly also tries to redirect the potential of the student towards a zone where they're contribution will be significant. In big cities like New York, Hong Kong and London due to the development of awareness among parents regarding their children's skill they are allowing the students to pursue the field that they have passion for. This is self evident from the fact the urbane children have more opportunity than the children in the rural region.

Secondarily, the issue mainly aims to assist the students by preventing them from wasting a major part of their life by studying a field in which they have no interest or passion for. For example, if world renowned sportsmen like Messi, Ronaldo, Usain Bolt, Sachin were forced to pursue a career in science then there contribution mine not have been as significant as now. If Einstein, Newton or Hawking were made to spend their time in sports field then we would not have witnessed such revolutionary changes that helped humanity reach this peak.

In addition let us consider a student who has more passion towards, say Chess rather than studying physics in a classroom. If this student is forced to study only Physics rather than allowing him to play Chess then he is highly prone to fail in both the fields. This is actually the illustration of the story of Viswanathan Anand, four time world chess champion from south India who followed his passion based on the guidance of his school that allowed him to excel in Chess.

In summary, the major responsibility that an educational institution possesses is to discover the hidden potential of every individual student and to make them realise their capabilities and assist them in pursuing a career in that field. This not only helps the student recognize his talent, if he utilizes his potential at his best then he can be responsible for providing significant contribution to the society that in other case seems less likely when he lacks passion for that field.