Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational institutions play a pivotal role in shaping the career of students. Inchoate students, when joining an educational institution, not only do they expect quality education but also guidance about which career path to choose as they graduate. The prompt recommends that educational institutions should goad students to choose fields that provide propitious careers. I disagree with the prompt for the following reasons.

Firstly, one decade's lucrative jobs may not be next decades' hot jobs. In other words, it would be fatuous to consider that the demand for a particular job would be perennial in this rapidly evolving world. To understand what I meant, let us look at a scenario that happened in the 1960s. During the 1960s, nuclear engineering was considered to be the most promising and lucrative field for job prospects because not only many countries were involved in developing nuclear weapons but they had also announced a number of nuclear power plants that would aid power production at very low cost with meager resources. Consequently, many graduating students chose nuclear engineering as their major in anticipation of leading luxurious life ever after. However, with various issues raising later in the decade like - NIMBY(not in my backyard) and unfathomable loss that occurred at Fukushima power plant(Japan) for no mistake of humans made countries' spearheads to re-evaluate their nuclear programs. The countries were even quicker to halt their nuclear programs as they had apprehensions about what could possibly go wrong. Soon, the nuclear engineers were deprived of hefty packages leaving them in despair and the just graduated engineers soon became hopeless of their professional careers. Hence, it would only be asinine to encourage the students to choose fields that would fetch them lucrative jobs.

Moreover, one should consider how happy would a person be just by earning surplus money every month. The question to ponder upon at this point is - Is money the panacea? The answer is definitely no. For example, let us consider a person who is interested in pursuing a career in horse riding but instead, she chose a career as software engineer as the educational institution encouraged its students to hone their skills so as to secure a high paying job as software engineer. Though at first, she might be amazed to see cool offices, free food and weekend parties, the zeal won't last long. She would soon start feeling nostalgia about what would have happened if she had chosen a career of her interest. There is no wonder that she would come to office everyday staring at her computer screen that has a horse riding wallpaper and repent for the decision she has taken. Moreover, the passion for a job determines how efficiently one works. She might submit the work haphazardly only to be admonished by her boss for the inadvertent mistakes in the project that will only aggravate her agony. And it is no wonder why many people in the software industry face multitude of mental health issues at workplaces. Thus, it is important that the educational institutions encourage students to pursue careers for which they a zealous both for the benefit of the individual and the society as whole.

One can argue that nowadays, as there seems to be no dearth in the kind of lucrative jobs to choose from, the educational institutions should exhort the students to only vouch for lucrative jobs. But, is it not a good reason to go after your passion? The likelihood of earning a high pay check if one follows their passion was never as high as it is presently. Hence, it is good if the educational institutions pique students to pursue careers of their interests rather than going after careers that seem lucrative at the moment only to have an epiphany later that all that glitters is not gold.