Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Every specie on earth will make mistakes at some point or the other in its lifetime and the human race is no exception to this tenet. However, it is what we learn from such mistakes that helps us advance as a race together. The prompt claims that knowing about the past does not help people in making important decisions in their present day lives. I strongly disagree with prompt for the following reasons.

Firstly, the human race is remarkably different from other species on the earth because we make an account of what we are doing as the time passes by while other species cannot. Hence, we have the luxury of refering to the past events and contemplate the implications of the actions taken in the past. Having such knowledge, it will help us portent the ramifications of our actions in the present wolrd. For example, let us consider the case of the two World Wars that took place in our history. The history of the two World Wars is taught in our schools. It is imperative to include such events in our school curriclum for - it makes everyone aware of the sheer destruction and loss caused by them to the entire world. Not to mention about the infamous atom bombs that were dropped on Japan whose adverse effects are still prevalent today. If one does not learn about such incidents, it is not very difficult to take decisions that would expedite the inception of such wars in the present days. Therefore, it is pivotal for us to learn about the atrocities in the past so that we do not repeat such uncorrigeble mistakes only to witness loss and destruction at an unprecedented scale again.

Secondly, knowing about the past not only spares us from loss and destruction but helps advance the human race as a whole. It is uproductive and time consuming to experiment right from the beginning again only to fail in the same way as someone did in the past. For instance, let us take the example of Space Exploration programs by a private company in the US, the SpaceX. Would the SpaceX be in a prime position as it is today had it not been for the knowledge it had gleaned from the erstwhile rocket launches, space exploration programs by NASA and other space agencies in the world? The answer is definitely no. The knowledge about the past will not only help us evaluate what works and what does not but also help make substantiable advances in a very short period of time. It is the knowldege about the past that helped SpaceX become a pioneer in successful rocket launches and thus gained the accolades from the world.

However, in the realms of our discussion, we cannot overlook a few exceptions that might prove otherwise. For example, we are creating an ad campaign for our newly released product. Upon foraging for the affect of similar ad campaigns in the past, we found out that such ad campaign was in effective. And hence, we forgo our idea and go with a different one. But, it would very well be the case that a similar ad campaign did not work in the past because of other unfavourable factors like: may be the people were not advance enough to get attracted to the ad campaign or the market was not mature enough. In such cases, knowledge about the past would indeed be a bane.

Therefore, in conclusion, knowing about the past does indeed help us take important decisions in the present day as one can apprize the affects of our decisions based on our past experiences and also act as catalyst for the development of the human race. In contrast, knowledge about the past can sometimes act as a deterrent in making important decisions.