The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

I agree that the effectiveness of a countries leaders is best represented through examination of that country’s citizens. this is because the wellbeing of the citizens is the direct effect of the decisions that the leader makes. every decisions made in government impacts the lives of citizens whether it be positive or negative.

one aspect of government that is constantly debated over among leaders is healthcare. Obviously the ideal situation would be that everyone has healthcare so that everyone is able to get the help they need to ensure they are in good health. The question is how do we go about making sure everyone has healthcare? if the leader decides that healthcare costs will be taken care of through taxes then it can impact the citizens both positively and negatively. it impacts the citizens positively by ensuring everyone has access to healthcare. On the other hand, this can be seen as negatively impacting other as more wealthy people pay more in taxes than the less wealthy. this is because in order to make sure that even the poorest people have healthcare you must use the taxes of the wealthy to cover the cost.

leaders often debate about the best way to run the economy and actions that may benefit the economy. A new law put in order could totally change the economy, without the leader intending to. For example, there has been a lot of talk around banning abortions. when you think of this topic you often think about you’re beliefs on the topic such as if you’re “pro life” or “pro choice”. The thing most people don’t think about is how it could potentially impact the economy. The banning of abortion would lead to the closing of many abortion clinics, leading to many people losing their jobs. this loss of jobs could negatively impact the economy. At the same time, if the abortion clinics we government funded then this might benefit the economy as it will be one less thing the government will be expected to fund. this could potentially even lower taxes benefitting the citizens.

Climate change has become well known and talked about topic in recent years, especially in politics. this is because our leaders of the country are the only ones that can truly make a large impact on environment as a whole. they are the one factor that could help turn this around. The leaders could do this by putting forth laws for us to follow when it comes to littering. For example, if you are found littering then you would get a fine. In my college town, Iowa City, you can even get fined for not recycling cardboard. this is very important because these laws makes people aware of their actions and the consequences they could have. The fine also motivates people to recycle, rather than be lazy. if the government were to start funding more environmental clean up projects we may begin to see more results in nature, but we need our leaders to take more of an initiative before anything can be taken care of.

The leaders of our countries control every aspect of our lives whether we realize it or not. With ever choice they make in the government comes a consequences, which could effect you in a positive or negative way. Each decisions effects everyone differently, as it really depends on your situation.