Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals. Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

The topic being introduced by the claim on how the advice to follow your dreams should be emphasized on picking a worthy goal to begin with, is a contentious one. Admittedly, the reasoning the author provided on how many people's dreams are inherently selfish is true to certain extent. Nonetheless, the selfishness behind a dream is the exact thing that will help propelling the dreamer towards the dream itself. Not to mention when it comes to the worth of ones dreams, no one could and should be able to judge them.

First and foremost, no one in the world should and could determine the worth of others' goals in life. What is worthy to someone may or may not be worthy in others' eyes. The relativity of this worth is affected by a plethora of different factors regarding one's environment, family background, moral values, and many others. Not to mention, the worth of a condition is also a subject to change regarding to time. One dream that might seem silly and unworthy ten years ago might seem as not only worthy, but also a brilliant one today. Since no one can predict the future, no one could measure the worth of something in the days to come.

For instance, a hundred years ago, when for the first time someone uttered the idea of going to space as their dreams, they might be met with snickers and pat on their back from people trying to tell them to be realistic. Situation and even what we know as reality keeps changing from time to time. Therefore, no one should be allowed to deem other people's goals are unworthy just because they think it is.

Another important thing to be noted is that the term selfish could be defined in such a wide range of understanding. It is hard to disagree the inherent nature of dream in itself. It is only natural that one person's dream would be the one thing that would make them happy, thus it is quite true that it would definitely able to be correlated with the word selfish. However, we also need to remember that when a certain thing is making someone happy, it is not necessarily harming others either. Someone's dreams and happiness is not mutually exclusive to others' dreams and happiness.

To illustrate the mentioned argument, let us look at the example in which someone has a dream to become a very successful writer. Even if the dreams were propelled by an inherent selfishness of making money and being respected by society, the achievement of the dream in itself would by no means projects harms towards other members of the community. In the contrary, if the dreamer has achieved the goal and became a great and successful writer, the books that they write might affect the lives of many other members of community. The inherent selfishness of someone's dream should not make us limit the dreams in itself.

Following one's dreams is a way for people to reach for the stars with determination and preservation. These are the way for people to grow and flourish. Dreams engender strong and motivated community members that will move them all forwards. The inherent selfishness of the dream itself should never stop one from achieving it. Nor should the unworthiness of those dreams in the eyes of others.