An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A doctor's record of treatments for their previous patients could demonstrate their ability to treat their future patients. Admittedly, most people would think that these records are confidential information that contains private information of both the patients and the doctors. However, the treatment records of the doctor could still be provided without perturbing the confidential private informations in it. Therefore, I agree with the author of the topic that a patient should be able to obtain their doctor's record of treating similar illness to help them determine both the doctor's competency and also their own expectation for their future medications.

Doctors are trained to treat thousands of different cases of illness. There are millions of different diseases caused by millions of different viruses, bacterias, or genetic problems in the world. Even if a doctor could be very well-known and acknowledged for their ability, it is just implausible for them to be an expert in all of the various diseases or health conditions there are in the world. It is true that most of these doctors would already have specialitazion in the first place, but nonetheless, even inside of each specializations, there are things that certain doctors are not exactly the paragon of their kinds.The problem is that in the status quo most patients have no idea what a certain doctor is not really good at. Society could easily get informations on what certain well-known doctors are expert on, but no doctors goes around announcing what they are not really good at.

Patients who are determining their doctors should be able to analyse their doctor's capability easily through their records and decide whether or not they want the doctor to treat them with their health condition. For instance, a doctor might be well-known for his research regarding diabetes type II and while that is true, he might not have the best records on treating patients with diabetes type I. Without this specific information, a patient with diabetes type I could easily choose the doctor to treat them while if they know their records they might want to find another doctor who is used to treat patients of diabetes type I successfully.

On the other hand, no one would actually be harmed by the release of these records to the patients. If privacy of previous patients are of concern, these information could easily be removed from the records that the patients would get their hands on. Nor would the doctor in particular be harmed by this. Even if a certain patient decides that they want another doctor to treat them with their illness after they perused the doctor's records. It would only let the doctor escape from possibility of failure to fulfil the high expectation of the patient if they decided to stay with the doctors without knowing their previous records in the very first place . The doctor would also not going to be so pressed about certain expectancy from the patients when they are not treating a certain illness that is not their specific specialty.

In conclusion, when a patient is trying to determine the doctor who would treat them and whom they will put their high expectation of recovery on, they should be able to make the decision with all possible information they could use. Providing the doctors records of treatment with their previous patients of similar illness will not only help the patients in creating a rational decision but also be beneficial for the doctors themselves.