The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two different regions. The buildings were erected by two different construction companies—Alpha and Zeta. Even though the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build, and its expenses for maintenance last year were twice those of the building constructed by Alpha. Furthermore, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been higher than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Such data, plus the fact that Alpha has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, indicate that we should use Alpha rather than Zeta for our contemplated new building project.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author argues that the Alpha construction company is a better choice than Zeta construction company for the new building project being planned. This claim is based on several reasoning such as cheaper construction and maintenance cost, lower energy consumption, corroborated also by workforce stability in the Alpha construction company. Stated in this way, the argument reveals instances of problematic reasonings by using several assumptions which distorts the view of the condition being assessed for the proposal. These flaws set up the argument to fail under scrupulous scrutiny.

First of all, the argument readily assumed that the two identical building plans being constructed in two different region should by all means results in identical building cost also. It is clear, however, that this assumption does not stand in solid ground. To assess this claim we need more information on the similarities and differences to be found in the two different building site. The cost differences both in the construction and maintenance cost could essentially be affected by readiness of the land and surrounding neighbourhood in regard of the new headquarter, which was not provided by the author. Thus, the arguments will be more convincing if the assumption is supported by evidence on how these conditions are identical or at least similar in the two different building site.

Furthermore, the author also readily assumes that higher cost of construction and maintenance in the Zeta building would lead to smaller profit. However, there is no mention on the quality of the two building and the profits generated by them in the argument. While it is true that price of construction and maintenance means loss of money, it should not be assumed that the quality of the two building is the same, therefore, the profit will automatically be decreased. For instance, the Zeta building could actually has better quality and provides better satisfaction for the employees who works in the building and also the consumers visiting the headquarters. If this case is true, it is likely that the Zeta building will bring better profit and satisfaction towards the company than the cheaper Alpha building. If only the author give us the information of the satisfaction and profit level or at least the quality of the building themselves, the argument would be able to endure better under thorough examination.

Finally, the argument also used Alpha construction company workforce stability to concludes that the company is a better choice than Zeta construction company. Nevertheless, the flaw of this reasoning is quite apparent in the fact that stable workforce and employee turnover does not correlate with the quality of the building constructed by the two companies. Without a clear explanation on how these two factors corroborated the quality of the works produced by the company, the reader is left with the impression that the claim is only a mere assumption made without any scrupulous basis of analysis. Therefore, it is quite obvious that the argument is weak and could not be readily accepted by the readers.

In summary, the argument is flawed and thus unconvincing as it stands. The instances of unproven assumptions and problematic logical flow ensures the failings of the argument in being persuasive. Analysis of the quality and satisfaction of the buildings as well as the major differences or similarities of the two construction sites - if there is any - would need to be supplemented in order to significantly ameliorates the author’s argument.