"A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument argues the Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors to enhance morale among the faculty and to lure new professors to come and teach at Seatown. This argument is made with the basis of Oceania University success in increasing their faculty retention by applying the similar policy. This argument is hardly persuasive. The evidence being used to bolster the argument is wanting and the use of assumptions may brings the arguments to fail under scrupulous scrutiny.

The first and foremost assumption being made in this argument is that Oceania University and Seatown is the same and that one polucy that works in one of them should work with the others. Nevertheless, this assumption is not butressed by any evidence at all. Other than mentioning that Oceania University is located nearby, the author does not provides us with any evidence of similarities of characters between the two place.

To illustrate the importance of evidence in this assumption, let us look at how an evidence of quality difference would affect the argument. For instance, if the Oceania University is a very well-known university in the country with a very expensive tuition while Seatown is low-tier university with very cheap tuition in comparison, the argument would be proven very unconvincing. In this case, it would only make sense for the professors to want their children to attend Oceania University and the free tuition will be a major deduction of their expenses. On the other hand, the same thing could not be said regarding Seatown University. This lack of evidence in itself could crumble the argument very easily.

The other thing to be noticed is the purpose of the policy itself. The author claims that the policy should help enhancing the faculty morals and luring new professors. The apparent problem with this claim is the fact that there is no evidence on how the faculty retention caused by the policy in Oceania University correlates with these goals. The increased faculty retention in Oceania University may or may not be related by the faculty morals. Since there is no evidence of the increased morals of Oceania University faculty members, we should not assume that the policy would be able to achieve it. There might be other factors that increase the faculty retention in Oceania University other than the free-tuition policy. If this is true, that the Seatown would only waste money on granting the free-tuition policy without being able to reach its goals.

Luring new professors into Seatown University is also a goal that is not being supported by any evidence being brought up by the author of this argument. This assumption is problematic because with no evidence on how free-tuition would help increase the interest of new professors to join the faculty, the argument would definitely fail. For example, it could be true that this policy would not work if most of the new professors does not have any children or not planning to have any in the near future.

Before Seatown University makes the decision regarding the free-tuition faculty for their professors' college-aged children, they should definitely ferret for more evidence to supports the claim. The lots of assumptions being used in the argument are very wanting and would need to be re-assessed. Without perusing on more evidence, the policy would only bring major loss and grievance for the University.