“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit.”

The argument provided by the author on how a sale of land in the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve area to the Smith Corporation would definitely be harmful to both the sanctuary and the community is both unwarranted and not a convincing one. The author included numerous assumptions as a foundation of their arguments. If these assumptions are proved unwarranted, they could easily harm the argument when it is being analyzed under a careful perusal.

First and foremost, the author assumed that to preserve the magnificent wild bird population in the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve, they would need to always have one hundred percent of the land currently being used in the preserve area. To be able to stand strongly, the author should have provided facts or examples to build the case on. At a glance we could see that if the Smith Corporation only buys a small percentage of the land, there should be no big harm intended for the wildlife preservation in the area. The author could also provides us with exact number of the percentage and more background of the Smith Corporation. If for example, the Smith Corporation is well-known to have small hotels built in other areas of wild-life preservations before and managed to not harm the preservation, this argument could easily fall through. On the contrary, if the Smith Corporation are known for their non-environmental-friendly hotel built everywhere around the country, then the author's argument could stand much more strongly.

The assumption of inevitable harm to the community around Youngtown Wildlife Preserve that the author stated is not persuasive due to an obvious logical gap. The author mentioned that the community relies heavily on tourists who visit the area primarily to see the wild birds in the preservation area. However the author does not explain what aspects of the tourism business they depends on. This statement could be much improved by the author if he provides us with an example of how most of the community income comes through the rents of local guesthouses or rooms intended for the tourists, therefore a new hotel would hurt the economic condition of the residents.

On the other hand, if for instance, the residents earned most of their incomes from sales of foods and merchandises in the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve for tourists, the effect of the newly built hotel in the area will be quite the opposite. If previously tourists only visits for half-a-day due to the absence of estimable places to stay in, with the hotel, the tourists will be able to stay longer in the area and spend more money buying foods and merchandises from the local community. Without sufficient information in the residents' source of income, the argument could easily fell short and sounds unconvincing.

At the end of the day, we could conclude that the author needs to provide more information regarding what is needed for a wildlife bird preservation area to survive and thrive, and also what certain business the community around the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve currently relies on to bolster his argument. Without this informations, his arguments would only looks like a pile of assumptions which will crumple under sedulous scrutiny.