“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the la

The author claims that Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now a part of the YoungTown Wildlife Preserve, based on the premise that -despite only a small percentage of land will be sold to Smith,the proposed development will have disastrous consequences, and there are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit the community of Youngtown which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see the bird population there.

While the message the author is trying to convey is conspicuous, the way he goes about it is flawed. Though at first glance, the argument seems convincing, on closer inspection we can find that the argument is fallacious and riddled with unwarranted assumptions.

The author simply claims that Smith Corporation's plan to build a hotel on a small percentage of land, will only harm the sanctuary.Here the author assumes that despite promising to preserve the sanctuary, Smith Corporation will inadvertently end up doing more harm than good and not live up to their part of the deal.Their is no evidence for the premise of this assumption. Has Smith Corporation in any previous instance shown that they don't keep their promises? Had their been more information to throw light on this assumption, the author's argument would have been more tenable.

The author just assumes that the land being sold to Smith Corporation will be in the heart of the sanctuary, disturbing the environment of 300 bird species. It may so happen that the small patch of land is just on the periphery of the sanctuary, and will in fact be a boon for the tourists to have a hotel so close to the bird park. Had there been more details about the size and the location of the land, the argument would have been more convincing.

Further, the author bluntly puts forth his claim that this sale will not benefit the community; without giving any reasons for this claim. On the contrary, sale will bring in more funds for development, and a good place to sojourn, will attract more tourists.

Thus, while the intentions of the author are pure and he tries to raise advocate against the development of the land that is a part of the wildlife preserve, his argument is untenable.Their is no conclusive information in the passage to espouse his view that Smith Corporations' plans will do nothing but harm the sanctuary.