"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

In his memo, the business manager claims that they should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level, to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues.He has based his claim on the premise that due to the increase in time devoted to national news associated with a simultaneous reduction of time allotted to weather and local news in the last year, many complaints have been received from the viewers concerning the weather and local news coverage. Further, he also cites another reason for his claim that local businesses that used to advertise during the late-news programs have cancelled their advertising contracts with the station.

Though the message the author is trying to convey is conspicuous, the way he goes about it is flawed.He hasn't mentioned many specific pieces of evidence that would bolster his claim and make his argument cogent. At first glance, the argument seems convincing, but on closer inspection, we realise that it is facile.

The manager cites complaints receives from viewers about the coverage of local and weather news as a probable reason to restore the original time devoted to local and weather news. However, the author fails to provide any statistical data as to how many users are complaining about the coverage and by how much percentage has the viewership gone down(if it has). These specific numbers would have been helpful in evaluating whether restoring the original time, would attract more viewers and advertisers.

Further, the author assumes that it is less time that is being given to local news and weather that is causing the viewers to complain and not the content.So increasing the time devoted to local news will not increase the viewership or advertisers, if the content is not good, or significant local events or important weather information about the forecast of a deluge, hurricane, drought etc are not covered. Such information may be important to farmers who plan their crops based on the weather forecast and avoid losses due to drought or floods. Hence it is of paramount importance that the author provides evidence that it is not content but only time devoted to local news and weather news is causing a dwindling number of advertisers and viewership.in absence of any substantive information, his argument is contentious.

Also, The author hasn't cited any reasons as to why the local businesses have cancelled their advertising contracts with the tv station.Is there any another widely viewed station that has recently become popular, or is the current station charging more- this information, if provided, is crucial to make the argument more tenable.

Though the author tries his beat to raise advocate to restore the time devoted to weather and local news, his argument is riddled with unwarranted assumptions. There is no conclusive information present in his memo to espouse his view that restoring to the last year's time would be effective. Thus, his argument in its current state is fallacious.