In your opinion,which modern invention or scientific discovery has affected society the most?Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

What modern invention has the biggest effect on the way people live today? Use specific reasons and examples to support your choice.”

Necessity if the mother of all invention.It was the need to stay connected with friends/relatives near or far and to ensure alost immediate message delivery that led to the invention of telephone;however it is only human to want more, and thus to have real time communication gave birth to INTERNET.Today in this fast paced world, internet has become so pervasie that some refer to it as the fourth necessary thing to survive after food, clothes and shelter!If we have need some information, we rely on the internet, if we need to go somewhere, our plans comes to a standstill if there is no internet- they way internet has impacted how we live today has been further elucidated inthe following paragraphs.

The very ritual of reading the physical copy of newspaper has been replaced by skimming through headlines on a galore of Mobile apps.We prefer flipping through articles on FlipBoard or reading saved articles from Pocket app at leisure. Internat has thus changed the way we read news; everything that is hapening around the world is at our fingertips. One seldom watches the news on TV for breaking news, but instead gets live tweets on the phone.

Not only this, Internet has revolutionised the way we commute; there are no more scenarios of haggling for the right fare with the cab/auto driver; we no longer have to look for friends or colleagues or relatives to car pool. Apps like Uber/OLA/Lyft make cab booking so easy and convenient that at times one doesnt really need to buy a car; wherever you want to go you can book a ride using these apps which give you multiple options to choose from. Not only this, thanks to internet, we can go anywhere in the world, and google information about local taxis as well incase an app doesn't provide service there.

Further, we seldom see long queues at any sort of ticket counter these days- be it train, movie, or bus or flight, everything is online- we can book a ticket when we want and wherever we want; simply logon to the internet nd choose the ticket that you want, and lo behold it is done within a matter or few minutes.

Through online shopping, internet has changed the way we shop; through more secure and robust networks, it has transformed the banking industry - internet is one of the modern invention that in my opinion has had the biggest effect on people today.The aformentioned paradigms highlight only few of the many areas that have been affected by the internet, as highlighted it has become as essential as the basic needs to survive.