Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

In this fast-paced ,rapidly growing world, in my opinion I strongly support he fact the smartphones are good tools to not only stay connected but also stay updated.According to me, smartphones literally and figuratively give the world to you in your hands; with a plethora of apps at one's disposal- not only the parents can keep tab on their wards, but the students can themselves be on their toes to be ready for any assignment. The reasons for my belief are further elucidated in the following paragraphs.

A smartphone is a phone with multiple features.Anxious parents' worries are kept at bay, because they can reach their children anytime.They can call them making a cellular network call and incase there is not network in a particular area, they can try reaching their child by making a VOIP(Voice over internet call) through apps such as skype,whasapp etc.Incase there is some friction between the parents and the childen and they are not on talking terms, even then the smartphones provides a handy solution - installing a tracking app helps the parents know where their child is at all times.Sometimes, extremely social students are used to uploading pictures, and sharing status updates, so even through such posts the concerned parent can be aware of the child's safety.Further smartphones also let you to make video calss, so parents can see their child while talking to them. Thus a smart phone comes bundled up with a lot of features to ensure connectivity with the parents.

furthermore, the parents and children do not end up missing important family ocassions just because there are far away in college - they can share pictures of birthdays, travels, and friends to keep each other posted. Sometimes if they are shopping and need a second opinion both can whatsapp and discuss the choice. This is the level of convenience of communication provided by the smartphones.

Apart from just being able to stay connected, smartphones when used wisely, can also empower the students.The internet enabled phones, give ease of access to information to the students ;this ensures that students have almost all the necessary information with them to complete their projects or assignments on time. As smartphones come equipped with cameras, students can upload their doubts and questions to their friends or TAs to get a sppedy answer to all their queries.This ease of accessibility to onlie informtion and journals braodens the horizon of the students, motivates them to find out more in details abou tthe topic of their interest whenever they want to.

Thus, according to the aforementioned paradigms, i strongly believe that it is important that parents give their children a smartphone and not forbid it.