It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

The two thoughts that come into my mind when i read this topis are - "a friend in need is a friend indeed" and "peoplewill walk in and out of our lives; but only ones close to our heart, stay with us right till the end". Having said that, i strongly believe that it is important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

Friends are extended family; they like our family know us in and out, especially childhood friends and college friends.During the innocence of childhood, we make our best friends because seldom are we judgemental, and growing together we develop that unbreakable bond of friendship, that despite our lives taking different paths , we catch up right from where we left. They have seen us grow, and know us like even we don't know ourselves.Similarly in college, we make good friends, as we step into the world of increasing responsibilities.College is the last chance that we get to behave in a carefree manner, make impulsive choices, and have fun. In this tumultous period, we make close friends because we do crazy things together and these are the people who are there for us, when we are away from family - when we are ill in cllege they take care of us, when we are short of money - they pool in to surprise us, they make us forget that we are away from home; bonds fostered during college do last a lifetime; we ought to keep them close.

These friends are the people whom we turn to for advise; they know how will we react under pressure, and know where we come from, the hardhsips that we might have faced, and remind us of our roots, thus guide us in right way.Such friends are our 4am friends, we can call them up at time; we can rely on them in terms of an adversity or an emergency.Even if we have any conflicts or issues with our famly, these are one who will immediately come to our rescue and ensure we do not take a harsh decision.

Thus, it is very importsnt that we cherish this relationship that we have with our friends as they go a long way in shaping our lives.Meanwhile, ofcourse we should network, we should make new friends, but just like the newly forged sword is a bit brittle; newly fostered bonds of friendship are tied by a loose string, We must tread carefully,as one small mistake might upset the other, ending up breaking the bond, so it takes a long time to nurture a new friendship.