It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

As the saying goes- if you can explain it well to a layman, that means you have understood it well. With this thought in mind, I agree with the given topic that it is more important for students to understand concepts than it for them to learn facts. The reasons for my belief are elucidated further in the following paragraphs.

If we just do rote learning and memorize the facts, how are we different from Robots? Are robot is programmed in such a way that if x happens it has to do y, but if it has not been told if z happens what it is supposed o do it is clueless. Our ability to adapt comes from the basic conceptual understanding- if we are trapped and if we know our concepts well, we can fight it out and survive, but if we just remembered the fact that in an enclosed box, entire oxygen will eventually be converted to carbon dioxide and we will de, we will give up fighting.

Further even for programmers this holds true, a programmer may know for a fact the merge sort is more efficient, but may not know how it is implemented, what is the concept of merge sort, so in that scenario, when the programmer is asked to design a software that is fast but uses minimum memory and he goes just by the knowledge of his facts, he may fail at the given task at hand. Hence it is of utmost importance to deep dive and understands the topic clearly so that it can be implemented and molded according to the situation.

Thus, according to the aforementioned paradigms, i strongly agree with the given topic that it is more important for students to understand the ideas and the concepts than learning the facts.