"Sports stars & movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them. In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid, we should expect them to fulfill this societal responsibility." -Write a response i

The issue at hand highlights the societal responsibility that movie stars and sports stars must fulfill, as they are role models for the young people who look up to them, and for the millions of dollars that they are paid.This is a contentious statement, but I vehemently agree to it. The reasons for my belief are elucidated in the ensuing paragraphs.

When it comes to cricket, Sachin Tendulkar is the epitome of a successful cricketer.In India, he is revered as the GOD of cricket, his acolytes worship him , follow him ardently and aspire to be just like him - if not as a cricketer, then at least as the unassuming persona that Sachin Tendulkar is. That he is role model for millions of young people all over the world, Sachin must realise his actions might be incumbent for what his fans do, as they blindly follow him. Any brand that he endorses, Sachin must be cautious, and circumspect and understand the product thoroughly, lest it may happen that masses buy it, and the product does more harm than good. People place their belief in their idols, and trust them unflinchingly because they believe, whatever their role model does, he will be right.Hence it is of paramount importance , not only Sachin , but also other revered sports icon, realise the impact of their choices, and demeanour, and their verbatim, that they carry themselves with utmost dignity atleast in public places .

Another such equally quintessential epitome of Bollywood is Amitabh Bachchan- he is admired not only by the aspiring young actors, also his contemporaries from his film fraternity. He is a man of repute, not only because of the plethora of roles that he is has played on the silver screen, but because after being bankrupt, he bounced back , and took his place back among the echelons of the film industry. When a man of such a formidable persona, promotes a particular campaign- be it Incredible India, or Swachh Bharat, even people who were initially hesitant, take up the broom and start cleaning the streets. Such is the impact that his ad campaign has. He is hallowed and put on the pedestal by the public, that is why even now, brands are after him to endorse their products, but Big B - the appellation given to him by the media, knows his responsibility, and is very particular about endorsements. He knows he is a role model for the public, and hence it is incumbent upon him to promote the right cause or the product.

This doesn't mean that the public can stop thinking and just go ahead follow whatever their role models say, or buy whatever their idols endorse.We must also do our own research before blindly buying the products, just because an Amitabh BAchchan endorses it, or Sachin Tendulkar says he use it. What is good for them, might not be good for us. Hence, we have to make that intelligent choice.

Ofcourse, Sports Stars and movie stars must fulfill their social responsibility because of the position they are in, but it is our responsibility too to decide what is the best for us.

Thus according to the aforementioned paradigms, I completely agree with the given topic that Sports stars and Movie Stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them; hence, the celebrities are expected to fulfill this societal responsibility.