We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the

In the given memo, the producer claims that getting extra money is of paramount importance to ensure a quality product and prevent the movie from becoming a failure.The author has based this conclusion on the premise that the director of the movie is a neophyte in the film industry and has previously shot only shampoo commercials; given his experience only the advertising industry which is notriously wasteful, the author believes that director would protract the usual shooting time by repeatedly taking retakes.So, the author claims that though money has been saved by hiring a novice director and inexpreienced assistant producers, the savings would have to paid to the actors and the crew for the overtime.

Though the message the producer is trying to convey in his memo is conspicuous, the way he goes about it is flawed. At first glance, the argument seems convincing, but on closer inspection we realise that the argument is facile and is not foolproof.

In his statement about the advertising industry being infamously wasteful, the author makes the assumption that as a result of being used the prodiginous nature of the ad industry, the director will continue the same practices in the film industry. To bolster his claim, had the author cited examples from the present situation that the director is following the same practices from his previous experience, in the making of the film too, his argument would have been tenable. Just because of his background and limited experience, assuming that the director will not change or realise the differences in approach in the two industries is specious.

Similarly, the author says that the director will take frequent retakes, and that will in turn increase the remuneration of the actors and their entourage and other functionaries on the film set.This is based on the assumption that the staff is paid on an hourly basis. What if the entire crew is hired on a contractual basis and paid a lumpsum amount upfront and they are bound by the contract till the film is completed with no change in their wages. This assumption makes the argument contentious as there is no conclusive information to determine why there will be a greater expenditure in paying the staff.

Further, the author claims that increasing the funding will ensure a quality product.This is tantamount to saying that money is the panacea for all problems. The author assumes that the script is perfect, actors are flawless and under the novice director, the movie would be good. He fails to explain how will an increase in funding gurantee a good movie, funding will be increased only by 10% - is that sufficent? Does he take into account the locales, costumes, sets or is it only the hourly wages that affect the budgeting of the film? Thus, without any more specific information to buttress his claim, his argument is untenable.

Though the producer tries his best to advocate the cause of increasing the funding for the movie Working Title by 10%,his argument is riddled with many unwarranted assumptions.There is no conclusive information present in his memo to espouse his view that an increase in funding will prevent the movie from becoming a failure.