Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most

In the given argument, the author claims that the new franchise of Nature's Way; should be successful in Plainsville based on the premises that - firstly, the franchise is profitable in areas where residents lead a healthy lifestyle and hence, it will be profitable in Plainsville; secondly, as the health club has more members and the fitness classes are always full, and lastly, there is a new generation of potential customer as school children have to compulsorily participate in a fitness-for-program. Though the claim is conspicuous, on closer inspection we find that the author's argument is riddled with flaws and unwarranted assumptions, that make the claim contentious.Further, the argument would have been more comprehensive, if the author would have presented absolute figures and statistics instead of phrases such as " many people lead a healthy lifestyle", "all-time high"; "classes are full"

Firstly, the author assumes that as Nature's Way franchises are profitable in areas where residents lead a healthy life, their new franchise in Plainsville will be profitable too as Plainsville is also an area where people lead a healthy lifestyle. However, the author fails to provide evidence for the fact that people in Plainsville are health conscious and exactly how many people of the total population of Plainsville are leading a healthy lifestyle. The author also assumes, that being health conscious will imply an increased sale of health food or health products, this is not necessary as people may be following healthy practices at home by following homely remedies of growing their own food in the backyard, avoiding outside food; practising yoga, which doesn't really need any equipment or fitness gear. Thus, the author's assumption just because people(not sure if a significant number) lead a healthy lifestyle implies the franchise will be profitable is contentious.

Secondly, the author assumes that since the sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs and as the local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full- Nature's Way Franchise will be profitable in Plainsville. This assumption is flawed as the author fails to elaborate as to how an increase in the sale of running shoes affect Nature's Way?Does Nature's Way make/sell shoes and clothes too? If yes, is that segment high on profit margins, to the make franchise profitable overall? How does the increase in membership of the Health CLub impact Nature's Way- is there a discount for the members, or do the club members have to use Nature's Way Products? Similarly, classes being full doesn't imply an increase in the sale of Nature's Way 's products causing it to be more profitable- are there hundreds of classes across the city that are full or since there are only 2-3 classes, hence they were full due to a demand-supply imbalance?. Had the author provided answers to these questions or shown how this premise supports his claim, his argument would have been foolproof.To add to it- by an all-time high sale, what does the author imply? was there no sale in the last few years or the last year 90 shoes were sold, and this year it crossed the benchmark or 100? Without substantial evidence in the form of concrete numbers, all such statements and claims by the author are inconclusive and do not strengthen his claim.

Lastly, the author says that since school children are mandatorily required to participate in a fitness for life program, they are the potential new customers of the franchise. He nowhere mentions that these potential new generation customers would have to buy NAture's WAy health products- the program could be simply an awareness generation program through a skit or a street play. Creating awareness does not necessarily imply an increase in sale and in turn profit; even if that was the case, there might be other brands also whose sale would go up, so this event doesn't cause the new Franchise to become profitable.

Thus, to conclude, in light of the flaws in the assumptions highlighted above, the author's claim that the new franchise of NAture's Way would be profitable in Plainsville is untenable.More details about the exact figures would have made the argument persuasive.