A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

The issue at hand states that a person who has knowingly committed a crime, has broken the social contract and hence, should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor. In my opinion, the topic takes too extreme a stance by completely banishing all the civil rights a citizen is entitled.Although it is of paramount importance that no acts of heinous crime should go unpunsihed, but without understanding the predicament of the perpetrator, or the duress under which a crime was made, a person should not be inculpated. This viewpoint is explicated in the ensuing paragraphs.

In 2012, in the capital of India, a girl was gangraped, and among the the four accused, one was a juvenile.The Supreme Court of India took about a year and a half to deliberate what kind of punishment should the juvenile be given. The remaining three were given death penalty, however the juvenile was given a lesser punishment. In this scenario, given the atrocity of the crime, the punishment meted out is justified;however when other scenarios of petty crimes -committed by juvenile have to be considered, they are given the benefit of doubt, as they are still young to make sound judgement for themselves. Mostly, the crimes committed by juveniles include petty robberies , pick-pocketing,passing sly remarks on women passing by and so on; in such scenarios if we totally divest them of their civil rights, aren't we commiting a crime too. They should be punished, but in approportion to the intensity of the crime.

Likewise, a person resorts to committing a crime knowingly only when he doesn't trust the judiciary anymore.There is a possibilty that beacause of inefficient jurisdiction, especially in India, where it takes almost decades for the court to complete one case, does one become a criminal. Then there are also examples of a plethora of cases where the actual criminals like the underworld Dons and mafia are exonerated, because they are intimidating and have enogh resources and money to buy the corrupt judges and lawyers.These circumstances can make a criminal of even the most scrupulous man.What should be done in these cases - improve the efficacy of the judiciary, restore the faith of the public in the system to prevent them from becoming criminals instead of denuding them of their fundamental rights, just because the circumstances forced them to take the law in their own hands.

We need to understand the intensity and impact of the so-called knowingly committed crimes. These days even littering the streets is a crime, jumping the signals is a crime,hacking someone's social media account is a crime. Are we considering all these crimes on the same level as killing a person(s) ? These former acts of flotuing rules are not at par with the latter and hence one should be able to understand the gravity of the crime, and then decide the punishment.One punishment for all crimes is not justified.

Thus according to the aformentioned paradigms, I vehemently believe that not allowing a person who has broken the social contract, retain his civil rights is too extreme, a midway approach should be taken.