People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

The issue brought up by the topic, whether someone could be seen as a poor decision maker when they use their emotion as their foremost basis in making a new decision is a contentious one. Admittedly, logic is a great necessity when it comes to decision making. Nonetheless, I generally disagree with the opinion that the use of emotion will always set someone to be a poor decision maker. Thus, I would argue that in certain cases, emotion are needed in a decision making process and does not degrade the quality of decision one makes.

First and foremost, when it comes to decision being made by a person, the value or quality of it could not easily be judged by just anyone. The value of a decision in itself is very much relative to every different person who evaluates them through different perspectives. One could argue that certain decision is poor based on the backlash they receive right after making the decision. On the other hand, someone else might see the decision to be precisely what is needed in the situation if they look at the long-term effect the decision might engendered.

To illustrate the relativity stated above, let us see the analogy of a high school graduate looking for a major to be studied in college. In this case, a boy has a great enjoyment is only to be found when he is playing music, but does not necessarily have such good gift of skill in the practice. In the other hand the boy has scintillating skill when it comes to mathematics and numbers that is not accompanied by enjoyment in the subject itself. The emotion he felt for playing music played a fundamental role in his decision making process to go to a college with a good music program without a scholarship rather than follow through to another college with math scholarship. Logic will of course propelled him from going down this road inundated by risks.

This decision the boy made could be considered as a poor one or a good one depending on the lens we try to scrutinize it. To be seen through the economic lens, the decision is a poor one because it presents bigger economical loss and risks. However, from the psychological lens, we could claim he made a good decision because he would spend the next four years or more of his life doing what he loves. The love he had for music will even augment the chance of his skill to be ameliorated during his time in college. The chance of snatching another scholarship later is also still open in front of him. Thus, this decision he made on the base of emotion could not and should not be undermined.

Logic might regularly be a better bet in the scope of decision making. Nevertheless, there will always be situations in which emotions are essential to be considered before we decide on important things in life. After all, we are all human and our emotion matter to us just as much - if not more than - other aspects of our lives.