Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

To prevent a society from becoming chaos, laws are playing a momentous role. Laws keep society as a union to thrive in its high value purposes. Therefore, it’s an oblige for every single member of a society to abide by the just laws, however, the unjust laws need more attention but not disobedient.

Separating the laws to the two groups of the just laws and the unjust laws is not a unique concept. Each individual might consider several laws as the just laws and other ones as the unjust laws. We should have a common definition for the unjust laws to have a deeper examination around this statement. The unjust laws would be the laws that do not help the whole society to be happy and satisfied due to the harmful thought behind them.

The just laws are regulated by sophisticated individuals who spend the majority of their lifetimes to study about the advantages and disadvantages of the just laws. People should obey these just laws to keep the society safe and prepared to advance. For instance, all the traffic lights consider people’s safety and they should abbey the rules behind the concept of them. Stopping behind the red light is necessary to be safe and disobey these laws have dangerous consequences. Therefore, regulators consider fines to prevent drivers from repeating the same false action.

On the other hand, a society might have several unjust laws that require people to pay attention to them. They should ask themselves whether these laws would harm any groups of society or not. The slavery was that kind of unjust laws that was unacceptable for a majority of the society in America. It was imperative that every individual to consider that law as an unjust law. With the slavery law, African American citizens did not live happily and they suffered racism. Therefor, this unjust law needs to reexamine and individuals who understood the dire circumstances of African American citizens began to protest. Disobedient is not a helpful way to stop the unjust laws because each disobedient would lead to a chaos society, however, peaceful movements and protests are necessary to grab the regulator’s attention about the wrong facts behind each unjust law.

To sum up, obedient of the just laws is the responsibility of each member of a society while the unjust laws need reconsideration. Disobedient is not acceptable for any kind of law, but being critical and participate to the peaceful movements would be useful to stop and change the unjust laws.